Trommel build

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Next1m8

Chris
Reaction score
So I couldn't manage to find a cheap trommel, while I was out prospecting today I came across a bbq that was left to rust so I scavanged what I needed the frame
1433406476_image.jpg

I plan to put some bigger wheels and drill & weld a nut on opposit end of the wheels to add adjustable legs, I need some advice on motor to spin the trommel, I was thinking a windscreen wiper motor to make it more portable and lighter with seeing as it's 12 volts, however I have little to no experience with electronics, How would I go about wiring in a speed selector switch?

Also I am not sure what to build the trommel barrel itself, I was thinking some of that round pipe can't think of what's it's called with 4 sections cut length ways with expanded metal attatched to the outside with some bolts & washers or heavy duty pop rivets,
I don't know if I should make the classification 1/2 inch or 1/4 inch

Also how would I go about making a corkscrew for inside it or should I just leave it without them and add some sort of lifters, and with adjustable legs angle it slightly so gravity moves the lager un classified rocks out..

I have too many ideas but need some advice all help will be appreciated

Wiper motor is the simplest. You only have to work out how to drive the barrel.
Push bike chain and sprockets. ???
As for wiring, Easy mate.
See if you can get one from say a Commodore as it will be easy to replace later on.
Wiring. ???
Call me.

Doug

I would use a starter motor to drive the trummel.I built a duck plucker out of one and they have plenty of toque when full loaded with pay gravel easy to wire up.black earth.red for. go.I'm thinking of using one for my rock crusher as well.all you need is a set of jumper leads and a battery or hook straight up to the car battery.

Next1m8 said: