What pump for a 10" highbanker?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello i am fairly new to gold prospecting and have been out a few times panning the whole day. Having some mixed success which i am slowly getting better results.
I have made my own highbanker and have done a bit of research into what i need for a water pump but just confirming what i have found.

Highbanker info:
~10" / 250mm wide
~1500mm long
Miners moss (has solid backing)
Expanded mesh covering the whole length
About 5 riffles covering the first 600mm, the first 2 are larger than the last 3, about 25mm tall to 15mm tall.
The matting setup can be changed for something else (like dream matt) of course but it is a basic low cost setup as i am just getting started. There are a few changes i would like to make to the setup but we will leave that to modifications later (like: Jarvine Riffle, miners moss/ expanded mesh in the top hopper, matt to cover the water to stop bubbles).
I am wondering what water pump would be good for a 10" highbanker?
I have found these to be possibly suitable/ recommended
Thornado 79cc: https://thornado.com.au/product/tho...water-pump-2hp-4-stroke-ohv-gold-prospecting/
Honda wx15: https://justwaterpumps.com.au/honda-wx15-1-5-inch-transfer-pump-flow-240-lpm/
I looked a little into electric bilge pumps but even a 4700gph seemed unfeasible to carry enough battery's/ cost for it even with Li-on's.

The thornado seems to come highly recommended but i am unsure if it has enough output to feed a 10" high banker?
The honda is very expensive but you get what you pay for here, better performance, lighter weight, reliability.