Mount David state forest NSW. Anyone tried it?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am very new to prospecting, (havn't even been out once yet), and am thinking about giving it a go. I have been camping out at mount david state forest multiple times over the past year and will be heading out there again for about a week this coming friday. I have also been reading up on the basics of prospecting for about a week now. My main question is has anyone here tried prospecting or panning at mount david state forest as it seems there are 4 old mines within its borders and im fairly sure at least 2 of them were gold mines. now i'm not going to be going into any of these old mines due to lack of gear, experience and information but i know of a few creeks that I have been thinking of trying my hand at panning in. the reason I ask is because there is a lack of information on anything to do with any of these mines or prospecting in general in this state forest. Any information, advice or personal experiences is greatly appreciated.
Cheers

First thing to do is get your State Forest Fossicking permit (if you haven't already):
https://firewood.sf.nsw.gov.au/FossickMain.aspx

Mt David map:
http://www.forestrycorporation.com.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0007/510739/fossicking-area-map-mount-david-state-forest.pdf

The only info I can find is that there were quartz reef mines around Mt David & Mt Crockwell. May be worth investigating the creeks around there - not sure, haven't been there myself but there are a few people on here that get around the area. The Oberon area seems to be pretty fossicking friendly, once you have a forest permit, with plenty of options though.

Oberon area fossicking:
http://www.oberonaustralia.com.au/imagesDB/wysiwyg/oberon_lga_2007.pdf

oberonaustralia.com said: