Ex-pat Yank says g'day!

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been teaching English in Thailand for 3 years, and I am from a gold-producing region of the US. In the 1850's, there was a gold rush in the area of Jacksonville, Oregon, which is just north of the California border. People still gather good color with dredges from the Rogue River and there are still sources which have not been located.

I have always wanted to see Australia, and I cannot think of a better way to do so than to walk about with a late model metal detector, shovel, and pick, either in the company of like-minded folk or by my lonesome. Both my grandfather and my father were geologists and I seem to have inherited their fascination with minerals and geological history. I hope to someday soon achieve this dream. To me, this would be an ideal retirement avocation; while teaching has been good fun here in Thailand, as I approach my 60th birthday I find myself longing for quiet open spaces similar to what I remember from the American West.

I wish everyone here much serendipity and propitious timing. May your feet guide you straight to good amounts of gold, and may you all have a lot of fun in the process. Please feel welcome to offer me suggestions about equipment, methods, attitudes, and anything relevant to this journey. Thank you and all the best.

Ah, so this is why the Thai's speak with an American accent. :p .
Welcome to the forum and i don't think you'll be disappointed with what you find here.
Good and luck and fortune to you as well. Where do you intend to do your exploration, state-town-gems or gold.
Let us know and shoot some pics for us to see.
Jaros. :p

Greetings Shine,