Snake Valley, Smythesdale, Happy Valley, Linton, Skipton areas information and questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey there everyone im new to all this so just trying to get a topic up and running for these areas just input or info on anything about these areas would be good, Ive just started getting into going out fairly regularly and thought to start this topic up for people who go around these areas? Im currently out trying Snake valley way and no luck at moment but hopefully the big one is just around the corner :lol: :lol: So come on guys tell me your stories about these areas or any info be much appreciated

I got a few littlens up along Kelly rd a few weeks back. It's pretty hard going there, I was wondering why it was so well detected until a mate told me there's a Doug Stone map with stars right near where we were :rolleyes: no wonder I liked the look of it haha.
If you get his map it should show you lots of spots. I would come have a swing with you but I'm going to WA this weekend.
Good luck

DD

Hey Valleyboy, assume by your name its your local?
I was in the Ballarat Library a while back and picked this up its a good summary of events that lead to the goldrush there kind of a non event as far as records go. While most of the gold there was small, men made a good living due to the deep lodes. The deeper they went the better the gold for example the Britannia Eclipse Mine - worked a lode from 1911 to 1913 to 150 feet in 1911- 92 tons crushed for 19 ozs, 1912 -328 tons crushed for 155 ozs, 1913 - 361 tons crushed for 178 ozs so at best 1/2 ounce per tonne.
0.2 ozs/t, 0.47 ozs/t, 0.49 ozs/t not great when compared with Ballarat but good results for today money that for sure.