New to Gems...

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grippsy25

Matt
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Im still quite new to fossicking/prospecting, not sure I've got the lingo down and all that jazz so please bare with me.

Im honestly a little more keen for prospecting for gold probably via the detector route, but Im not exactly rich so it's will take me some time to save for a detector, so I figure in the meantime I can do a little fossicking for gems. I did actually join this site with gems and fossicking on my mind, but quickly gold took centre stage.

I live in Mooroolbark, basically the foothills of the Dandenong Ranges, outer eastern suburbs of Melbourne...anyone near by interested in a day out, perchance? Im looking to get out for the first time sometime in the next 2-3 weeks. I haven't got any permits or whatever yet so that will have to be a priority before I do anything, obviously.

So a few quickfire questions I have:
Do YOU usually find something of interest every time you go out?
Are there any good areas to fossick within an hours drive of where I live?
What does everyone here do with the stones? Collect them rough? Sell them? Cut them? Make jewellery?

I just came across a thread which included this picture (https://www.prospectingaustralia.com/forum/img/member-images/357/1370426399_rocks.jpg). How accurate is this? I notice Lilydale on the list (it's the next town over from me)...that's surprising. AmAm I really likely to find anything in Lilydale? I have family with 50 acres in Wandin with multiple creeks running through. Assuming these creeks arent on exempt lists, is it worth a look? Upper Yarra seems to be a good. Plenty of gems and close enough to me. So is "Upper Yarra" area sort of Reefton/Woods Point way?

Anyways, don't want to waffle on too much...

Cheers for reading