Hi There Champions.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
G'day all.

Thought I had better post up an introduction and say hi to you great folks who are willing to share so much useful information.

I'm relatively new to prospecting and I have been lurking around here for a little while absorbing the fantastic knowledge shared. My interest in prospecting developed mid this year when I was up at my farm (with a work permit as I am Melbourne based) checking on my livestock, when I literally kicked a rock and noticed very fine gold and sulphides in it. Needless to say I searched for more.
I brought my collection of rocks home crushed them up and was nearly wetting my pants with excitement as at the time I was out of work and was soon having dreams of a new carrier path.

Long story short,,, I got the dozer out and cut down on the reef (uh, I mean started to cut in a new dam) and sent some samples off for assay for which they didn't charge me for the testing in the end for obvious reasons..... However, its there somewhere and I'll resume looking once I can afford the full costs.

Since then I've learnt to detect on my old girls Eureka gold that she never really used. Found my first little nugget (.76) on my first proper outing in known gold county and I'm now properly obsessed. I've found some awesome history from musket balls used for target practise, to cast iron pots and tools, copper buckets, tin pans and of course the coloured stuff.

Anyway, thanks for having me and I look forward to meeting some of you out there.

As far as dams go quartz reefs in the bottom of them is not a good thing. Neighbours got one that leaks like a sieve. Good luck on your quest. Too bad about the assay.

Cheers Goldfreak. Building a dam comment was code for not having an EL.