DIY 3 tray dry blower

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Afternoon all
Planning on building a 3 tray dry blower useing Keene 150 trays.
Are going to fab vibrating screen that will feed hopper that will feed 3 riffle trays before being discharged by conveyor.
Been doing a bit of research but was wondering if anyone had any handy tips/advice/drawings the are willing to share before i embark on this mission?

Good looking unit. In your opinion is a puffer better?

I think you'll find a Puffer is just another name for a bellows type dryblower. I'm no expert because I've only ever built one dryblower but it does work well. The only suggestion I can make is to have as many items as you can adjustable. Adjustable air flow, adjustable bellows speed and stroke, adjstable tray angle etc. You may have to change pulleys or sprockets but at lease make sure you have to ability to do that.

Dryblowing for gold is not an exact science, there are too many variables. Soil moisture content is forever changing. Some soil types feed well, others will need vibration or steeper feed angles. Clay will behave differently to alluvial sands and everyting in between. Hopefully you are doing it for fun rather than financial reward ;)

I think you'll find a Puffer is just another name for a bellows type dryblower. I'm no expert because I've only ever built one dryblower but it does work well. The only suggestion I can make is to have as many items as you can adjustable. Adjustable air flow, adjustable bellows speed and stroke, adjstable tray angle etc. You may have to change pulleys or sprockets but at lease make sure you have to ability to do that.