Turon river / Sofala area NSW camping + campground information and questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amature007

Brendan
Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm Brendan, I'm pretty new to the prospecting scene and was wondering if i could get some advise on camping and prospecting the turon river?
Would I be able access the area with a two wheel drive vechicle, and if so where would be a Good place to start?
Is there much private land in the area or is there plenty of access for prospectors?
Thanks any help would be appreciated.

Hi Brendan , I myself have not been to Sofala Turon area , but what will help with land etc , is SIX maps - http://maps.six.nsw.gov.au/

There are overlays to show Lot Labels & Boundaries etc , keep in mind the creeks/rivers are on crown land, access is the key. A friend of mine goes camoing to Upper Turon often , but he is not a fossicker , so if you go into Sofala & head East toward Upper Turon,camping is avaialble on the river

Cheers Paul

Hi Brendan, mate were very new to this fossicking caper but not to camping and four wheel driving, you can access most of the area round Hill end with a car but you would need a 4B I think to try any of the river crossings were going up to the turon next week for a couple of days so I'll let you know what the river fords are like next week.

T & P

Thanks for the information, I'm hoping to get out there in the next few weeks myself.
I've been working around the crossing at oallen ford with limited success so was hoping to travel a little further to increase my chances.
If anyone has some information an the oallen ford area I'd really appreciate it?