Sending hellos from South Gippsland

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

L00pyLuna

Learning with a disability
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I hope everyone is safe and well..
I am very new to the idea of panning for tiny bits/fragments/flecks of gold..
I'm trying to find a hobby that I am able to do with a bit of a disability, , my memory is bad for starters (acquired brain damage), life goes on.. And there are new hobbies to find..
My grandfather used to prospect, alot of years ago, he has since passed, and I would like to try and give it a go..
I have much to read, and much to try researching, but hopefully one day, I could find just a tiny piece..

Stay safe and stay well

Hi LL and welcome to PA.

The basic bits and bobs needed for panning are cheap enough and modern plastic gold pans make life much easier than the old steel pans, where a very careful pair of hands was necessary to avoid losing small gold over the edge. Any prospecting shop should have them. As for a shovel and buckets and maybe a pick to break up hard-packed gravels, Bunnings is probably as good as anywhere to find those, if you don't have something suitable already in the garden shed.

The rules and regs you'll need to know about are summarised here:
https://www.prospectingaustralia.co...ecting-regulations-all-australian-states.125/
You can practice your panning technique at home using some bagged gold paydirt, possibly also available at a prospecting shop or just search eBay - there's plenty of sellers, many over-priced, but have a look and see what you think. YouTube has plenty of videos to help get you started, too.

Good luck in your prospecting, mate.