Reading the ground using Google Earth...

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to detecting and have only ever been out once, which was a couple of weekends ago to Heathcote. I bought a Doug Stone metal detecting map and after reading a few things about the general area, I pretty much picked a spot using the map I bought and what I could see using Google Earth. I have read a few things about what to look for regarding choosing your spot, but I'm still a little unsure.

So I've attached a photo I pulled from Google Earth just of a general area in Bendigo which I think may be a good place to start detecting because of the change in colour of ground (red and sandy white looking) from the surrounding ground, but would like some advice from the more experienced and knowledgeable people on this forum whether I'm on the right track in what I'm looking for using Google Earth or I'm way off the mark.

1418089215_screenshot_2014-12-09-10-37-51.jpg

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.

Gday Doc,
Not real familiar with the Bendigo area but maybe I can help. Im assuming that you have done some research on the area in your photo and that its in an area that has shown gold in the past?
There looks to be a couple of roads or tracks nearby so getting to it should be a doddle, just make sure its not on private property or someones elses mining lease.
Its always worth checking areas that look promising, worst case senario is that you rule out that area as barren.
Couldnt hurt to brush up on some basic geology to help you identify signs of where gold might be.
Most importantly have fun out there in the bush.
TGW

Hey TGW, thanks for the feedback mate.