Panning and Detecting

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys

This may be a dumb question; but are there certain areas in which only panning/sluicing is allowed, or can one detect in all the allowed areas?

As I am completely new to the detecting world I have been doing plenty of research on the rules of prospecting and places to go. I feel like all my googling is making my head spin.

Oh; and another 2 more questions :D ; what are the best gaiters to get? because I was reading that the snakes in Australia aren't able to bite through canvas gaiters due to their short teeth. And finally, how important is it to change the shaft on my detector from the aluminium to a fiberglass one?

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks Guys!!

No such thing as a dumb question on here mate
Gaters are ok but nothing is guaranteed when it comes to snakes i have them but still keep an eye open
Detectors as far as i know cane be used in all places that you are allowed in
Why change anything on your detector if its not broken
The old saying if it ain't broken dont fix it

Nazman said:
This may be a dumb question; but are there certain areas in which only panning/sluicing is allowed, or can one detect in all the allowed areas?

The only dumb question is the one you don't ask.

There are very few areas where you can detect but not pan in and vice versa. Water catchments are usually a no no.

If you're in Victoria you can check with Parks Victoria.

Here's a link to all information including prospecting maps from Parks Victoria - http://parkweb.vic.gov.au/visit/popular-activities/fossicking

As I am completely new to the detecting world I have been doing plenty of research on the rules of prospecting and places to go. I feel like all my googling is making my head spin.