landowners approval

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am an ex farmer, I have always allowed campers etc on my land
Have any of you approached farmers in gold producing areas if you can fossik on their land.
I would imagine most property owners would oblige as long as you abide by their rules.
maybe offer a six pack of stubbies?

I knocked on the door to a property only a few days ago.
I used to pan and sluice in the creek that runs thru their property a few years ago. My mate owned it at the time then he sold it.
The new owner was more than happy to let me pan and sluice again. I told him Id clean up any mess that I made and wouldnt leave any rubbish around. Ive also been given permission to come and go as I like. I should have knocked on the door earlier, but I was a bit apprehensive and embarrassed that Id be told where to go!
A 6pac of cans or a Tatts ticket isnt a bad idea to sweeten the deal.

beaul said:
has anyone ever paid a % of gold found to get approval to fossik on private property

I'm sure some do/have at the end of the day if you get permission it might be a pre requisite before permission is granted. Only one way to know for sure and that is to ask :Y:

RM Outback said:
beaul said:
has anyone ever paid a % of gold found to get approval to fossik on private property

I'm sure some do/have at the end of the day if you get permission it might be a pre requisite before permission is granted. Only one way to know for sure and that is to ask :Y:

I got permission on a small property and said to the owner 50/50. I get the fun of detecting the land and the owner was chuffed. Win win in my books :D

A carton of beer is an up front win for the owner regardless of the outcome.

I also offer camp fees but they usually say blah your right mate.