Kiwi and a Canuck travelling Oz

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
G'day,

Pressured into joining after running into Balmain Bob, and becoming a part of the community after a enjoyable weekend with some other members up at Hill End.

I've been prospecting for a few years, was an early adopter and huge fan of Minelabs SDC2300, having a waterproof and somewhat indestructible detector is a must have back home in my native New Zealand, she's a French Canadian girl who convinced me it was a good idea to follow her to Australia on a working holiday, I secretly bought her her own SDC before leaving, we bought a cheap 4x4 shortly after landing on the Gold Coast, and we spent a fun afternoon in the Queensland heat fitting it out with a rooftop tent and awning, after an obligatory trip to see Cory at the Brisbane Minersden we were setup with picks and other sundries that not only wouldn't have fitted in the suitcases but what we also don't use or need back home, after a good chat and a bit of friendly encouragement we were out in Durikai digging our first nuggets, before visiting Australia Zoo on the Sunshine Coast to get up to speed on the local wildlife, since then we've had some success in Nundle, after following our noses into the state forest (with permits) as the locals pointed us the other direction up the Peel, had our arses kicked digging in the mud for Sapphires in Inverell not having any idea what we were doing or even what a raw sapphire looked like! and dug countless rounds of brass and machine gun links from where I suspect the 'Battle of Mogo Forest' was bravely fought by defence force trainees, the only 'gold' we got out of Mogo was in the form of $2 coins so at least it was productive in that sense.