Garrett AT Pro information and questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poizon83

Clint
Reaction score
Hello, I recently have just purchased a AT PRO INT.. And I was wondering if there were any tricks that I should know about? as I have been using an xterra 705 for a few years.. And I was told that I should "Lube" the O ring when i do a battery change to keep the seal good? What Lube should I use? Plus anything I need to know About submersible head phones????
Any info will be much appreciated.
Regards Clint.

Hi Clint,

The AT Pro is a great machine and there are plenty of guys on here that use them. The usual suggestions apply, i.e. read the user manual thoroughly, watch the DVD that came with it, watch plenty of videos on YouTube and the most important of them all is to simply get out there and start using it. As you become more experienced with the machine you'll be able to differentiate between quality and trash targets by the variations in tone and response. Setting up a test bed is also worth looking into.

Silicone Grease is best recommended on the battery compartment 'O' Ring. I've heard not to use Vaseline or any other petroleum based product as it can cause the rubber to dry out and crack. In saying that I have used Vaseline on mine once or twice with no negative impact. 'O' Rings are cheap enough.

Here's a couple of suggestions for submersible headphones. I personally own a pair of Garrett's and find them to be top shelf. The alternative is the Gray Ghost's which have an adjustable volume control (the Garrett's don't have this), I'm yet to try them out but they don't sound too bad.

Gray Ghost submersible headphones https://www.prospectingaustralia.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1807
Garrett submersible headphones http://www.garrettaustralia.com.au/products/Garrett-Submersible-Headphones.html

I hope that helps you out.

Nugget.