First impressions of the GPX4500

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok before I start let me say:

1: I am no expert and these are my opinions and mine only
2: I have owned a GPZ (for 18 months) so any comparisons I make between the 4500 and 7000 come from my own experience
3: Anything I say may be subject to change as my experience with the 4500 grows.

My setup: GPX4500 with Coiltek 17x11 Elite

I have to say I was quite impressed. I had prepared myself to be a little disappointed after having used the 7000 but I was in for a surprise. I managed to get it to run very quiet although the ground balance was no way near as good. I had to ground balance quite often compared to the Z. I am sure this will quickly just become habit. Also it didnt balance out clay pockets as easily although I did find that by flicking it over to 'deep' it would balance out clay ground noise quickly.

As for sensitivity - using a chunky little 1/2gm test nugget I got as good an air test as the 7000 - maybe even a fraction better (only slightly) but on small prickly speccies it was no where near as good. Now I didnt try to adjust for better signal on the smaller stuff because I wanted to cover the ground for deeper big targets but I am sure I could tweak it to get better performance on the small stuff. My only issue is I am sure the depth will suffer if I do. I do have a NF 14x9 Evolution coil on its way so that will help with the smaller stuff.