Cheers from Charleston, SC USA by a Paleontologist

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Greetings, all!

My name is Ashby, and I'm a paleontologist from the USA, travelling to AU and Tassie in October for the National Society of Vertebrate Paleontology's annual conference.

My background is primarily in fossil vertebrates from the Cenezoic, although I have recently branched out into the Cretaceous fauna as well. My two main areas of expertise are the Ice Age megafauna (mammoths, mastodons, armadillos, sloths, et al.) and shark faunas; yes, that includes the Megalodon shark. :lol: Stateside, I work as a tour guide and owner of my own business (Charleston Fossil Adventures, LLC), taking families to fossil sites here in South Carolina. There, participants get to find and keep all of their fossils. I've run it for four years now, and love sharing the sites I have access to, with those that vacation here and don't normally have such an opportunity.

I'm visiting Cairns, Brisbane, Hobart, and Sydney over the course of 20 days, and looking to do some fossicking once or twice during my stay. Based on my research, it appears that the Lune River site is fairly accessible from Hobart. I'm travelling with an equally enthusiastic friend that doesn't mind getting down and dirty to find some material. Does anyone have any tips and or appropriate guidance (dos and don'ts) about fossicking in Australia?

Also, I'm open to bringing some neat bits from the USA for trade if anyone would like to meet up. I collect gems here as well, and have sapphires, beryl, and apatite from North Carolina, and "druzy" quartz crystals from South Carolina. Fossils run the gamut from large shark teeth, to mammoth and mastodon tooth enamel/ivory, vertebrae, and myriad other items I could go on listing all day long.