Can someone please explain these holes

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
G’day everyone,

This is my first time posting I’ve been lurking for a minute now since I started my detector journey 8 months ago, I have learnt a lot and have had a lot of questions answered thanks to this forum so thank you!

Since going out bush I have seen a lot of interesting things which I am very grateful this hobby has allowed me to do but 1 thing keeps showing up and I cannot wrap my head around what is going on I’ve had a quick search and cannot find anything this is probably very obvious to most of you.

I’m prospecting around Kalgoorlie and I keep finding these big holes which I assume are old dig holes of some kind but I don’t understand why the soil is usually completely different to what I’d expect it to be could possibly be from an animal? The bottom layer is what I’d expect but on-top of that which is the majority it’s almost like mulch?

2603EF3F-F308-4D49-8581-58D6B5D38D6F.jpeg
Hopefully someone can enlighten me,

Cheers.

That's nothing to do with mining/human activities at all mate, it's a malleefowl mound. I lived in Kal for many years and saw them often in the goldfields environs. If you have a close look at the mulchlike leaf litter/soil material, you should see some shell fragments left by hatched chicks.

Fantastic birds, how they manage to survive and breed out there in such a harsh climate, with numerous feral cats, wild dogs, foxes, crows, etc., is almost incomprehensible.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malleefowl

Mallee fowl nest.
Helped on a mallee fowl survey down near Ongerup quite a few years ago now, and It was surprising how many old mounds we found down there.
We also had the privelige of seeing one while a bird was actively tending it.