Yandoit Alluvial Gold - Metal Detecting

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm new to the forum and just wanted to say g'day... I'm also new to gold prospecting so I appreciate everybods patience with 'dumb questions'.

Just wondering if anyone has ever detected around Yandoit, Victoria? I've heard it was quite a rich field but don't often hear much about people working it... any thoughts?

Hi Oz Gold, I'm new to this forum & gold prospecting too. I have a GPX 5000 that I hardly know how to use. Never been to Yandoit but you never know your luck!
Where abouts in Vic are you? I have tried other areas but no luck as of yet. Good luck with it all!

OG, I haven't been there yet either but I got a gold map for Yandoit by Doug Stone a few weeks ago. If you check out the range of maps, ther are lots to choose from and maybe in your area too. Shows all the od workings.....probably the best place to start. Maps are about $15.00 from Miners Den in Mitcham road, Vic or any of the other Dens as well.

Yep good gold out there try Moonlight lead off Yandoit track, tracks are a bit rough, gully steep but there is gold out there. I will try and dig up a photo of the gold only small stuff also Old German reef is well worth a look.
cheers DB

Welcome Oz_Gold, get to a library and see if they have a set of Gold and Ghosts by D.W.de Havelland there are 4 Volumes one of them will cover that area. Wealth of information in these. They are also as rare as hens teeth to find. The library won't lend it out but will let you photocopy a couple of chapters. Hope it helps :D

Hi OG,
Library is always a good source of info but in this case the G & G books won't help, they only cover WA & Qld.