What lurks below the surface of a river?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was digging in a small mountain stream today and had to reach in a lot to move bigger pebbles and small rocks. I'm pretty new to all this and am wondering, are there any poisonous critters down there?
Cheers

I was going to suggest Bullsharks :D
Thanks AC...never heard of a Bullrout so googled. Interesting, basically a fresh water version of a stone fish.

AussieChris said:
Bullrouts and male Platypus about all I can think of, have seen a 120kg man beg to have his foot cut off after treading on a Bullrout. Platypus are thankfully pretty shy.
Thanks. I looked them up and am I right in thinking they wouldn't usually be found unless it's tidal or not too far from the coast?
Nasty blighters by the sounds of things!

Hehe Mike, you are exactly in the right spot for Bullrouts then those buggers will go up as far as they can, wear gumboots/boots. Stir up the spot you are working a bit with your shovel before getting your hands in the action, grab some riggers gloves to look after your hands anyway. After a few times out with ripped up hands and picking gravel out from under my nails, gloves topped my list for my next Bunnings visit. My mate got hit about 65km up the Macleay jumping out of a canoe in about 2 foot of water and I know another that got done on the Clarence while fishing, bloody nasty and yup Madtuna freshwater stonefish.

I have had the pleasure of treading on one of those mongrels! It was at the back of the Manning River near Mt George getting shrimp for bait.
The pain was excruciating on the sole of my foot....however the real pain come from my glands on the inside of my thighs blowing up like water balloons! I couldn't walk from the pain. I was lucky that we were able to get a car close to me and jump in and drive back to the house.