old river beds

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone im only new to prospecting but i have an understanding of old river beds being a great place to find gold. The question i have and hopefully someone can answer for me is as follows.. i that gold deposits itself on old river beds on bed rock but i have found a certain area where there is defined river bed due to the large rounded stones sitting around 3 feet under the surface but underneath is at least another 5 to 6 feet of sand and no sign of bedrock is my best bet for highbanking this area to to stay in the area where the stones are as there is a little clay between them or to run the sand and gravels beneath the riverbed??? Ive test panned with mixed results on the concentrations of gold where there appears to be gold in both the sandy gravel and the stoney river bed?? I guess the question im asking is where would you believe in theory the greater concentration would be knowing that this is a prone flood area??? Any help on this would be appreciated :)

maybe it is just a flood plain and not a river bed , I have seen rocks the size of cars moved by flood waters. lots of flood events could have built the sand up over many years then a major flood could have dumped or rolled the larger ones on the upper layers maybe.
if you could find the edge of it and narrow trench your way down into it following the natural hills slope it would show you a good cross section of the layers and then test panning each definite layer might show which layers are holding the most gold.
The good news is you are getting gold :) now you just need to pin point what to dig . good luck and keep us posted :)

yellowfever1986 said: