Not a total newbie from Sydney

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
G'day folks,

My Name is Dave and from the St George area of Sydney. In my early 60's, still working (not allowed to retire yet).

I'm not a total newbie in Metal detecting but not super experienced either. A few years back I dabbled in detecting but due to life getting in the way too much, I didn't continue with it.

I had bought a new Bounty Hunter 4 or whatever it was called and whilst i found a few coins and stuff, I wished I had bought a better machine at the onset as the BH felt a bit like a toy really.

Anyway fast forward 12 years and I want to get back into it as a friend of mine has just re-ignited my passion recently when his wife bought him a new Minelab Gold Monster.

I'm happy to see that Minelab has also recently introduced some new models in the past couple of years and now I'm super interested in investing in a new machine very soon.

My pick of machines I'm interested in are : Minelab Vanquish 540 with the Pro pack and Minelab Equinox 800 with the Gold function.
As most of you would know that these machines are multi- frequency giving the best of most detecting worlds.

If anyone has better suggestions I'd like the hear them.

Are there many members here from the St George area of Sydney that get together regularly for a detector session?

Cheers & regards

Dave. :cool:

Hi Dave..welcome to the Forum.I get the impression your a man on a mission mate! :Y: I've been at this game for awhile now...doesn't help to look back too many year :lol: