Newbie Checking In

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Afternoon fellow detectors,

Ungybungyboh (Steve) reporting for detector duties.

I am very new to the hobby, just picked up my Xterra 305 earlier this week with 18.75 6" coil and Minelab Pro-Find pointer. I had been thinking about getting into the detecting for a few years now, but never did anything about it, that all changed last week when I got bored at work and went online shopping :)

I am currently based on the Lower North Shore of Sydney and plan on hitting a few of the local beaches n parks (and some historic sites) to see what I can find with my new toy, love being outside in general and always loved the thrill of a hunt as such, who doesn't like hidden treasure? I did hit beach evening I got detector for 45min to sort out settings and have a play, managed to find a $1 coin, was pretty stoked.....just a few hundred more to go to break even ;)

I am a mid to late 30's bloke who works in IT security for a living.

I will eventually head out into the sticks and look for the nuggets (Dad lives in Bendigo) , but in the meantime, want to sharpen the skills with some coin and jewelry hunting (pretty sure these North shore types like their bling, and do manage to lose it occasionally, I will be a conscientious detector and turn in valuable newish looking finds to police) but if its old n dirty and 6 inches down, finders keepers (that's how it works yeah?)

If there are any locals about who wouldn't mind someone tagging along on their next hunt, would love to come along and learn some of the tips n tricks if possible.

Keep detecting

Ungybungyboh (Steve)

Hi (Ungybungyboh) Steve. Welcome your sure to find the odd Rolex out there. I 've heard that they even wash the sand so that the locals don't let the the salt affect their bathers. Ha ha!!