Hiya

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Just wanted to say gidday all and thanks for all the information and general chit chat you post on this site. I am a total amateur at detecting and have had an xterra 705 for about 6 months. I live in the beenleigh area of qld and have only found a few coins mixed with a tonne of trash. Have a week off at start of september and am heading out to try my hand at gold detecting and panning. The hardest bit is deciding where. Was thinking the gpas out warwick way or i have access to property on eastern side of mt rawdon and black snake at kilkivan. Should i just flip a coin to decide or can someone help me? Thanks again

Go choice#2 Choko.... private accessibility sounds key to exploratory rewards and adventure,... which is key either way (gold or not). :p
Welcome to the forum and good luck on the hunt. :D

We'll be waiting to see and hear what you find now Choko... always keep the exactness of spots incognito though mate (even in photo backgrounds) that way if you find the big one no one will be shadowing you for the one's that were all around it lol :Y:

Head to black snake mate.
There is gold in most of the mountain area.
Alot of mines along the road leading to the old copper smelter

Hey fellas. Good mt perry adventure but bugger all gold . Probably bout a match heads worth of specs from panning. Couldn't get my xterra to settle down enough to do any worthwhile detecting. Very frustrating! Need a lesson i think instead of just youtube and reading. Or maybe a better detector? Will see. Kilkivan next time

Threats of violence will not be tolerated on the forum regardless of the issue being discussed.
Head to black snake mate.
There is gold in most of the mountain area.
Alot of mines along the road leading to the old copper smelter