Hi to all from the Sunshine Coast..

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
A big HELLO to everyone from a new but keen prospector.

I'm new to the gold hunt, in its natural state anyway. I have done some m/detecting at the beaches and fresh water swimming holes here on the coast over the last few months. I enjoy it lots but having 20+ people an hour stop you to ask what it is your looking for gets a little old quite quickly.

I've always loved exploring creeks and rivers so prospecting just seems a natural next step I think. My lovely wife is loving it as well. We went digging some cracks in the bedrock at a local creek the other day and there she was armpit deep and covered in rotten leaves and mud with the biggest smile on here face.

We have bought some basic gear like digging tools, pans, buckets and a classifier. Now we just have to get out there and find some color.
We are keen to meet others and share in the fun so if any of you are ever in the area with some time for a dig give us a yell. :)

Cheers to all.

Hello there Goldagettin, hope you do well and welcome to the forum(couple of us still stayin up late)
One good thing about headphones, if your time limited for the hunt you can just point to your head and feign deafness. Only thing is, sometimes it's the talkers that give you all the good clues to your next great hunt. They don't care about things like a detectorist would and will freely divulge secrets because they don't own a detector and probably never will. Mind you if there's a lot of em it can certainly keep your find tally down for the day.
I'm sure there are a few wild panners willing to share knowledge and help you and the missus fill a bottle(small one first). If the old timers could do it then, we should all be able to stumble across something now, surely.

Hi Silver, thank you for the warm welcome.