Hi from Black Springs

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I've just purchased my new home that's surrounded by the Vulcan state forest, I'm new to this but it has captured my interest, are there any regulars at sapphire bend that I could meet one day and learn?
There's a river on my property (more like swampy grass) that looks to connect to the rest of the forest waterways, would that be worth checking for goodies?
Sorry, I'm keen to learn :D

Hi mate, it's always worth doing a few test holes.. I'd be happy to meet up next time I'm up that way I'll let you know.

Matturbo said:
Hi all, I've just purchased my new home that's surrounded by the Vulcan state forest, I'm new to this but it has captured my interest, are there any regulars at sapphire bend that I could meet one day and learn?
There's a river on my property (more like swampy grass) that looks to connect to the rest of the forest waterways, would that be worth checking for goodies?

Always worth a check. Welcome aboard. Hopefully not too many snakes in that swampy grass!!

Digginholes said:
Hi mate, it's always worth doing a few test holes.. I'd be happy to meet up next time I'm up that way I'll let you know.

Thanks guys, that would be great Digginholes, the property will be a weekender until February when we move for good .
I was considering a metal detector, but might hire one or see if one of you blokes would be interested in having a sweep, I'm surrounded by pine but my 72ac is native and lightly timbered.

Twapster said:
Matturbo said:

Always worth a check. Welcome aboard. Hopefully not too many snakes in that swampy grass!!

Snakes aren't too big of a concern, long,thick pants and gators will do the trick ( and possibly a 12g)

Matturbo said:
Digginholes said: