Full Time Gold Prospector?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am not a gold prospector yet, but I am really interested in this game.

Wondering how many of you guys are doing this full time?
What is an average annual income for a full time gold prospector?
How much money to spend to get start in this game? any ongoing fee?
License?
Any other things I need to be aware?

Many thanks.

depends on your style of prospecting, detecting, or washing, depends on your budget, wether you have private property access, or you just doing the State forests and National parks, include your 4x4 set up, the countless unpayable hours of research.
Don't forget the most important one of all, Dissapointment, can you handle days if not weeks of it, going along finding next to nothing, there are some guys that do it full time, but I'm guessing that they started off as part timers then graduated to full time :)

I'd also throw in that it would be best to live where the gold is as well.
I'd suggest a job that allows you to have more free time to pursue the hobby eg: teacher - 12 weeks off, police - 16 weeks off etc.

Wintersnake said:
I'd suggest a job that allows you to have more free time to pursue the hobby eg: teacher - 12 weeks off, police - 16 weeks off etc.

Police 16 weeks off? When did this start?

Magilla said:
Wintersnake said:

Police 16 weeks off? When did this start?

That's what my Nephew gets once you factor in nightshift time off.

16 weeks??? Its 9 weeks in Victoria. The 6 days off after nightshift are just your usual rest days stringed together after working 10 days straight.
Either way it still gives me time to get away and do whatever i want to! :)

Thank you.
Just a few more questions:
Do I need a license? or I can walk anywhere, and take any gold nugget I find?