Dunolly and Moliagul prospecting / detecting information and questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi. I have been browsing through a heap of info.....(we are complete newbies) .....and came across Dunolly. Any members been detecting and camping in this area? :)

Dunolly is a great spot in the heart of big nugget country. For travelers it is as good as any other spot around the golden triangle, however it doesn't have the sightseeing appeal of lets say Castlemaine or Maldon. Because of its history of larger gold being found with detectors, unfortunately it is the spot that just about every man and his dog hits when they first get a detector. Very professional operators have also worked the are very hard in the past and some still do. I guess what I am trying to say is the gold is pretty thin on the ground now days. With that said, there is no way that it could all have been covered. So there is still a chance like anywhere else. The history of the area is also worth the trip and it is located in an area were it is easy to branch out to other gold producing areas from your location at Dunolly. If and I do say if you are hoping to find that big nugget then Dunolly is one of the spots were it just might happen as it was a big nugget area.

Thanks for your reply! We are the newest of newbies and have been looking forward to purchasing a detector for quite some time, and, I think from what you have just told us we may well go and spend a day or two in the area. We haven't spent any time around there, so it's always good to see new places, gold or not! Thanks again, will let you know if we go!

Hey Mick & Anne,
Great place to be this time of year now flies, no heat, soft ground and no snakes. I have only got back from the area and was there for a week.