Hello. Complete newbies here

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all,

My partner and i are complete newbies to all this fossicking. Although I love loved rocks and gemstones since I was a kid (thanks dad) I have never really got out and done any fossicking. Always wanted to and the time has come!

A couple months ago we headed out to Little River fossicking area just south of Oberon. We didn't find anything. I think it was pretty much fossicked out due to it being well known spot to fossick without a licence. But it was beautiful having Little River and the bush all to ourselves. It's a pretty little spot 😎

Anyway, I think a fossicking licence is in order and some camping and fossicking trips.
We are from Sydney and love getting out of the rat race!

Looking forward to meeting some knowledable souls here who can help make our fossicking experiences that bit more fun and interesting 🙂

Justin & Mary...

Good on you both. When we lived in Sydney, each weekend if we weren’t fishing up near Wyong, we would be at Oberon and having a great old time especially dinner with steak on the open fire and some spuds thrown into the hot coals and a nice bottle of red or two. That was 30 odd years ago and I guess like all things change was inevitable. Enjoy whats left. Cheers Mackka

Hi Maccka and thanks🙂

My partner has been saying that we need to get out camping, So we figured combining camping and fossicking will be great.

We are off to the Thredbo for Mary's birthday at the end of the month, which is how we discovered this website and forum while researching where to fossick in the Snowy region. Might do a day trip out to Tumbarrumba.

Welcome to the forum.
There's some info on the forum that may be of use to you in your NSW + any interstate travels.
https://www.prospectingaustralia.co...ecting-regulations-all-australian-states.125/