Detector Purchase Perspectives?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm considering buying a detector for gold hunting - I already have a nox 800 I use every weekend but I'm looking at something for winter goldfields, I'll realistically get out there 3 times a year.

I have the money to buy a GPZ, but will it find more gold than an SDC2300/GPX5000 to warranty the extra cost. I enjoy detecting but it's even more enjoyable with greater reward.

I'd be buying 2nd hand, so in the event I gave it up and sold the detectors seem to hold their value, so on that front it'd make more sense than continuing to rent a detector.

I guess i'm just looking for different perspectives on rent vs buy on the various models. I've used them all for brief periods, I really liked the GPZ and SDC

Im still pretty new to the game, but from what Ive read I wouldve gone the gpz if I didnt get the gpx4500 so cheap. If you can afford it and your going to be out there, youd want the best wouldnt you?

I have all three and predominantly use the 7000 as my general purpose detector. All have found kilos in thier own right, plus found kilos while being used in conjunction with the others.
Each will find gold the other misses hence why I use all three.

But the detector is only a small part of the equation. probably more important is research, time, practice etc etc etc..
Each of the three are brilliant detectors, but they wont find gold for you, you have to do your bit.

They are like cars, the good looking nice bloke in the old commodore is always going to pull more chicks than the fat ugly bloke in the Ferrari... he might occasionally get one to flash her boobs but hell never truly get laid.

madtuna said: