Detecting Old Timer's Shallow Workings - is it worth it?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I would be interested to get other people's views on this.

In My area around Avoca, there are lots of shallow workings from the old timers.

I have tried detecting these sorts of areas with no success at all, Mullocks, creek beds, washes etc.

Both of my nuggets to date have come from areas that are not already marked (I'm using Geovic Maps) as having workings but when I found them, existing workings were nearby in both cases.

So perhaps more will come from the areas surrounding old workings?

Bear in mind I am quite new to this...

Hi Goldfield Joe,
If there's a lot of shallow diggings it usually means that they found something. Its always worth looking, also if on a slope, make sure you work the area below the diggings. Gold has the uncanny ability to be where you least expect it :)

Cheers

Hi Joe
I am new to is as well and would be interested in the feedback for this post.
How long have you been trying?
I have never tried the Avoca area. Wineries being the exception.

Scottlucky

Hi Joe there are many spots close to Avoca that are worth trying Homebush, Mount Hut, Amphitheatre, Redbank and Landsborough these are just a few to mention .Between Maryborough and Avoca there are many areas worth looking at , have a look at BUNG BONG work the slopes work slow and check all signals regards john :)

Hey mate used to think the same but hey I got 2 X .15 grams on fathers day.The boys are right go slow and check out around diggings. What machine are you using and coil size ? The old timers new there stuff so there was or still is gold in these areas.Dr

Hi Joe,

Here in Brasil if there's a lot of shallow diggings it usually means that they found something