Coin shooting in parks

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Im a newbie and only been detecting about 6-8 weeks , this topic has probably been covered before but help appreciated , I have a X-TERRA 705 and been shooting at the local beach, found about $12 in gold and silver, finding some every visit, which is really good , Ive found its not the value of the coins but the excitement of finding something that I get enjoyment from.
Im thinking about going hunting in parks , Ive watched plenty of videos and whilst good no one ever mentions setting compared to beach, I know theres 50 detectors out there and each one is different but maybe some one with a 705 can give me a rough guide, thanks Jim d

First of all, don't take your beach shovel to the park and leave massive plugs. Probably stick to the high ID s cos you'll find a lot more junk in parks and in my opinion it's not worth 20 ring pull plugs for 20c. I have an equinox with preset modes so can't help much with specific settings.

Try a search for Sa_bogan in youtube. He was an active member here a while back and did some youtube videos on the 705 at beach and parks. Let me know how you go, if you have no luck I'll embed the link.

Cheers.

Hi Dave Im aware that digging great holes is not a good look .... I plan is to try and only stick to about 2-3 so Im guessing I have to turn the detector down so as I can try the screwdriver slit method, I seem dig large holes at the beach (which I back fill) but Im getting coins as deep as 8-9 so hence why I wanna get setting opinions.

We are glad to see that you are aware of not digging huge unnecessary holes,remember that gold coins are the size of your finger nail with many being very very shallow or "sunbakers" as we call them.