Clegy Xterra 705 Finds

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clegy

Justin Cleghorn
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

Thought I chuck up a thread and post some of my finds.
I must say I am finding some stuff I never even thought might be in the ground!

I am mainly a coin and relic hunter but as I live a few hours from Clermont
My goal is to do a bit of prospecting as well once i get this 705 worked out a little better.

With my finds, I'll also post anything I learned that day/night as I am pretty new to the scene.

Settings is a big topic so My settings for most of my hunts are as follows. I always play around a bit
but this is where I start each hunt.

AM Mode (All Metal)
99 (28) Tones - I do this as it helps me learn and I find it easier to get good stuff in among the trash.
I use auto to ground balance and pick a clear channel.
Sensitivity I start at 15 and depending on the level of craziness either lower or raise it from there.
Beach mode when in the sand.
I Always use headphones as well.
As I said these are my base settings.

Ok here's my first finds from Last Night. I hit a park where Teenagers hang out alot.
It was an interesting Hunt in the 90 minutes I had.

Notables finds:
My First ever $2 coin!, 1 cent piece (x2) and 2 cent piece.
My First ever LIVE Winchester .357 Magnum Bullet? Goes well with the LIVE .308 round I found earlier.
Not sure what the teenagers are doing down there?

Heres the pic, See you next hunt.

If your in or around Yeppoon Feel Free to shout out for a Hunt or a Beer or Both.

1439425928_12august2015.jpg

Well done Clegy, many more finds to come as you become more familiar with the 705. Good choice to hit the coins first before attempting prospecting, searching for gold with a vlf detector isn't an easy thing, and will take a lot of patience and understanding on how to set up the 705 properly. :)