Blue / pink / purple / etc Stones at Telegraph Point, NSW

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All,

This is my first post. I'm not really into prospecting or rocks in general, but have gotten curious about some stones I am finding. Some time ago I got some unimproved land at Telegraph Point on the Mid North Coast of NSW. It has a small creek on it, but really that's an exaggeration. Mostly dry, just some small holes on it and rocky. I am no expert, so all I can say is that the rock type is grey/brown. And if you know Telegraph Point at all you'll see it creates a red soil, which makes ideal fruit growing conditions on the plateau. So on two occasions recently I have found some colourful stones in the creek. About a dozen stones. The bigger ones are blue and not that attractive. Some smaller ones are pink/purple/red and quite glassy looking, but very small, matchhead sized. Anyone know what types of stones they are? Guessing there is info online somewhere, but not sure where to find it or what keywords to use. I did ask old mate on the plateau but he didn't have any info.

Thanks in advance,
Dean

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum Dean.
Those pink stones look similar to rubies I've seen from the Cudgegong River near Mudgee. Do you have a UV torch to see if they are fluorescent?
I can't find any reference to rubies/sapphire in your area though. There are some areas further north inland from Coffs Harbour.
Members Cudgegong River rubies:
https://www.prospectingaustralia.com/threads/cudgegong-river-information.3928/#post-52233
Not sure where these were from:
https://www.prospectingaustralia.com/threads/pink-stones.3437/post-46892