Anyone Built a DIY metal detector?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
OK so I'm just starting out on the metal detecting hobby, and having a reasonable amount of electronic skill, and not a lot of cash ATM, i'm thinking of building one of these DIY metal detectors, preferably a PI one.

Anyone built one or seen a reliable review of one? The Surf PI one looks good, but sounds more like a beach/coin hunter, where as i'm in the golden triangle looking for gold(coins/relic would be good to as i'm still a noob, would be good to find something)

Thanks

Thanks for the link.

I was hoping to hear from someone who had used the finished product, i regards to how well they are able to find things

I have the ebay tacoma 56 square board surf PI DD board, already asssembled.($AU100) It fits perfectly in the Futurekit box- $22 for 4 delivered from Kitstop (Au). My shaft is a telescopic dust broom(handle) Best Buys, $12. A 3x18650 holder supplies 11.1 -12.6 volts. Had to nick a little piece out of 2 corners to fit past the screwhole lugs. This board has 4 external pots.
Bought a s/hand 10x5 ML DD commander for it ($90).
I haven't set it up yet because I have been making a self designed IB/Beat Balance. Designed and etched my own board, but blew the pre-amp. The trimpot on the reg was faulty, and when zero resistance it put 12 volts through the TDA2822 pre-amp and smoked it! Just bypassed it to the LM358n amp. Not as loud, but workable. It was loud enough for a deaf person in a howling gale before. The DD coil was set up on a Matchless detector, I also etched the board for.
Coil shielding is silver powdered milk bag. This needs no earth lead.