Tips for gold panning

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new to this panning stuff, but I'm after some tips on what to do and where to look in the creeks and what to look for? I notmally go up to reedy creek near Eldorado and a few creeks around Beechworth, I also have a river sluice that I built but I'm waiting for the weather to warm up before I take it out
Cheers

You tube is you friend on this one. But generally speaking on the inside bends or behind large boulders or obstruction in the flow. Also look for bedrock close to the surface and get to the bottom of the crevices.
tyrion

tyrion said:
You tube is you friend on this one. But generally speaking on the inside bends or behind large boulders or obstruction in the flow. Also look for bedrock close to the surface and get to the bottom of the crevices.
tyrion
Thanks mate I'll have a look on YouTube!
Cheers

Danlonie95 said:
...................................I also have a river sluice that I built ............................
Cheers

Hi Dan,

Do you have any pictures of your self built sluice?
Or any details, design sources that you would share with a total beginner?

Thanks for posting the video Black current.
I have downloaded it for viewing tonight.

I live at Bellingen, not far from Woopi! (one of my favourite coastal places).

Jim.

MikeB05 said:
Hi Jim0000,

Any gold in the Bellinger River?

cheers
Mike

Hi Mike,

I have not tried to find some and have not heard any reports of historical findings in the Bellinger River.
That does not mean there is not any there, needless to say.
Your question prompts me to try some panning on the river banks. Maybe the Never Never creek - could be worth a try too.
After all, this creek starts at the foothills of the Great Divide below Dorrigo. Creeks north of Dorrigo have produced gold in former times.

Thanks,

Jim.