Threshold setting on the SDC.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hotrob

Rob
Reaction score
Could someone who has experience with the SDC please give me some advise. I was told on my Minelab training day when I bought my SDC to run the threshold just above the lower settings.
I have done this & found a lot of lead shot so I know this works but the other day while out swinging I met a fellow prospector & after a bit of chat he asked why I was running the threshold so high. I explained that I was a total newbie & that was what I had been told to run it at.
He told me that he also used an SDC & was quite experienced with it. He said to turn the threshold right down & run it silently (then when you hear a noise... you have a target). I tried it & imediately found more lead shot so I know his theory works & it was a lot easier to use as there was very little noise apart from the targets.
So what setting should I run & why????? Because I found small shot with the SDC running silently I tend to lean towards his theory but is there something I'm not aware of that could cause me to walk over the elusive GOOD stuff.
Any advise please.
Rob.

I run mine on the fourth light and sensitivity on green (2) sometimes I go to 3.

Any higher setting in mineralised grounds becomes to noisy and you miss a lot of targets.

Hi Rob,

Just to clarify, are you running a booster/speaker setup on the SDC?

As long as you're threshold is smooth and well balanced/auto-tuned against EMI, hot ground etc. and you're finding that pesky small lead shot then all should be fine. I don't run a speaker setup on my SDC as I'm used to the headphones now so maybe the other guys might offer some more advice in those regards?