Testing Nuggets With Multimeter (Ohms).

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PMac77

Pete
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've been going through the forum slowly, so my apologies for not posting much to date, I hope this question hasn't been done to death. My question is, Can you tell a Gold nugget for certain by measuring it's electrical resistance in Ohms? I've seen on line somewhere that Gold is about 2.44 Ohms @ 20 degrees C. Is this a reliable way of checking or is there better tests to conduct like a scratch test? I'm a total newbie to detecting. Thanks in advance.

Pete. :)

The electrical resistivity of gold is 0.022 micro-ohm/mtrs at 20 C. Meaning you would have to have a very good digital multimeter to perform the test. The thermal conductivity is 310 W m-1 K-1at the same temperature. The corrosion resistance of gold is perhaps one it's most useful properties. Electrode potentials are a useful method for representing the tendency of a metal to corrode.
Normally just weigh it after impurities removed.

I reckon once you find your first bit of gold you'll know without any test/s.
I've seen a heap of posts where people have asked "is this gold"? In nearly all cases if someone needs to ask if they've found natural gold then they usually haven't.
IMO there's no mistaking it. :goldnugget:
Specific gravity testing is probably the simplest method though or possibly a simple acid test kit. There's no other "gold" coloured metal that will have near the same density as gold.

Industrial Instrument Technician / sparkie here!

A multimeter won,t tell you anything of value for resistance of a gold nugget.
Silver is the best conductor but gold is not far behind & don,t forget good old copper which is very common in electrical wiring.