Surf Pi Build + inbuilt pinpointer

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all

I own a Tracker IV and an Aldi detector but like all people who gets toys I find myself wanting a bigger toy.

So I've ordered the surf pi kit which I am going to build.

http://www.adrianandgenese.com/blog...ulse-induction-metal-detector-from-a-diy-kit/

http://www.silverdog.co.uk/shop/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=76

From what I've read this detector can detect to a depth or 12 inches (30 cm) in contrast to my current detectors which can do about half that.

I have a bit of electronics building experience and I am a ham radio operator (vk3pb). I also cohost an electronics/ham radio show called Amateurlogic which can be downloaded off the internet or found at Youtube. So I plan to do this build as one of my segments and you'll be able to see how I put it together and whether it works or not. I've already ordered the kit.

I have one idea I'd like to throw out there which may or may not have been implemented previously.