shoalhaven large flake and pickers???

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys im only new to prospecting been going about 12 months now im just curious as to wether people have aquired large flakes and pickers out of the shoalhaven river??? I frequent the area fairly often and im familiar with the flour gold there but after a recent trip down there paninng off my cons ive found 2 pickers weighing .05 and .07 and a large flake/nugget weighing .3 of a gram ive found this to be quite unusual for the dhoalhaven as it is mainly fine flood gold anybody got thoughts on this??? Ill post a couple of pics of the gold on this topic tonight when im home from work....

No depending on where you go, you will get gold like that from the shoalhaven.
1463103995_1476364148.gif

yup

i even found some crystaline gold there taking shelter inside a chunk of quartz .

there are two different types of gold in that area , and if you do some homework you will also find that some very large nuggets were found on that river system back in the goldrush days ( 90 and 230 ounces from memory ).

http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv284/thomasjones1986/IMG_0320.jpg
http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv284/thomasjones1986/IMG_0303.jpg
these are the photos i have of everything that was got in the shoalhaven last trip from the flour gold to the pickers and the large flake/nugget i never knew that there was larger gold to be had everyone i had spoken to had told me that there was nothing but flour gold to be had from the shoalhaven so you can imagine my surprise to find these three pieces in the cons with the flour gold...

razorAKAgolddigger said:
Hi has any body been fossicking up browns mountain in shoalhaven ? Email address removed, against forum rules.

As a starting point, check out Bonzle and see what mines were in the area.