Shallow Nuggets (Not Near Old Diggings)

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ive been detecting for around 2 years and something Im still not entirely familiar with is gold bearing ground that is not just near or, on old diggings the only gold Ive ever found has always been on or very near old diggings.

My question is say in WA Ive seen lots of people just detecting virgin ground that is flat and the soil looks quite hard compact. From my understanding the soil has to be a type of clay and littered with quartz for it to hold nuggets and be shallow enough to detect? Does this have to be a certain type of ground for it to hold gold? Seems like the areas Ive come across this seem to be mostly north west in the triangle. Waanyarra, Bendigo, Inglewood, Kingower and so on that red looking ground peppered with ironstone quartz.

Cant speak for Victoria, but my approach is basically to search geological and magnetic imaging maps to find areas of "virgin" ground that are similar to known gold bearing rock/structure types in my area. Then I tend to start from there :)