Panning out mullock heaps

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to this whole game and just spent my first few days detecting up around Wedderburn and Kingower with a hired detector. Thing is I found 3 little nuggets in the top couple of inches of different mullock heaps in a particular gully. The question I have is, if you were to take this material away with you and pan it, would you be likely to find some good finer gold that a detector won't hit? Sorry if it's an obvious question...

I think your only supposed to remove concentrates Ks unless you mean just down to the water source in the creek, but someone with a fuller understanding on it all may have a more concise view on the matter ! ;)
I'm merely a treasure hunter not a fully schooled up yella fella ! :D

Gday Kaiser Soze,
There is one main thing to consider KS, and that is that the gold bearing layer on the mulloch heaps will most likely be in the top few inches as that is the level they reached to fina8get to the gold.
When they dug shafts it was to reach an ancient river bed where the gravels holding the gold were or all the way to the bedrock where the gold was trapped.
Cheers Steve

Kaiser Soze said:
Hi all, I'm new to this whole game and just spent my first few days detecting up around Wedderburn and Kingower with a hired detector. Thing is I found 3 little nuggets in the top couple of inches of different mullock heaps in a particular gully. The question I have is, if you were to take this material away with you and pan it, would you be likely to find some good finer gold that a detector won't hit? Sorry if it's an obvious question...

As per the Victorian Miners Right you must repair the damage to the land while prospecting!
I am assuming you would be in breach of that by processing the mullock heaps.