Palmer

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bushpig

Jed
Reaction score
Hi all I am new to detecting and over the last few weeks starting out with a GPX4500 and I've learnt it probably was'nt the best machine to start with. At the moment I have information overload.
Any help would be more than greatly appreciated as I dont intend on giving up on this machine ever.
I spent a couple days in the Palmer QLD region which proved to be more frustrating than anything. Why would my minelab be picking up a bottletop and not a lead sinker on the surface?

Hey Bushpig
Welcome to the forum, the 4500 is from all accounts a great detector, I would suggest read your manual then read your manual then read your manual then read your manual, until you really understand it, then go & play with your detector then read the manual.
No idea about the lead not being picked up unless you somehow put it in cancel????
Where are you based?? this will help to find someone in your area that may give pointers.
Good luck.
Lee

Hi Palmer,

As Lee said, read the manual, and when you think you've got it, read it again.
Always worth a look is the Jonothan Porter DVD "The SETA Project" which is on the 4500.

If you can't get any one on one tuition up your way, Google, forums and you tube are your best friend.

First thing I would do though, is next time you turn it on, hold down the on off switch to place the machine back into factory presets. Factory presets are there for a reason and WILL find gold.

With the machine in factory preset, point the rear of the control box down with the coil facing directly in the air so the settings are facing you and the correct way up.
Threshold between 1 and 2 O'clock.
Search mode - General
Soil/Timings - Enhance
Coil/Rx - Mono (if mono coil) DD (if DD coil)
Ground Balance - Fixed

Easy to remember as - middle right middle right