Newbies first day prospecting!

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
What a fantastic hobby/sport we all have! I am so glad that I got interested in this, and also so glad that I joined this forum. It has given me the opportunity to not only learn about what I am doing, but to meet one of the nicest guys I have met in many years.

Mystyk59 (aka Billy Mule Man O'Shea on Prospecting in The Territory) offered to take us out in Tennant Creek while we were travelling to see the kids in Darwin, and show us the ropes,, and as can be seen from my intro he had his work cut out.

We were on our way home a couple of Wednesdays back when, sitting around the van having a beer at The Pebbles near Tennant Creek NT, I saw Billy come online, so thought bugger it, I'll give him a call and see if he was fair dinkum or not about giving a total newbie some heads up info. I couldn't have asked for a friendlier first conversation and Billy made me feel that nothing was too much trouble, and we agreed to meet at Billys the next morning.
Meet we did, and from the very first moment we hit it off and we bundled Billy into our car and set off to a spot he lovesthe Australian Outback. Into the spinifex and red dust we travelled and at the end of a really short drive Billy pulled us up and we began the first lessons. Hearing about beeps and boops and whoo whoos, and auto tunes, and ground balancing, and sensitivity, and tracking, and EMI, and other stuff had the head reeling just a little, but once we turned on, tuned in, balanced and set off, I felt confident that I had listened and understood some of the intricacies of the GPX5000 that all the written instructions and You Tube videos just dont give to you when youre starting out.