My highbanker sluice mods and upgrades

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
20xwater what have you done to make hopper into a boiling spa? sounds like a good thing especially if you have eliminated the spray over the sides as well. if you have a pic of it could you post it so that i could check it out? and others that run GSA bankers as well? cheers

josh086 said:
20xwater what have you done to make hopper into a boiling spa? sounds like a good thing especially if you have eliminated the spray over the sides as well. if you have a pic of it could you post it so that i could check it out? and others that run GSA bankers as well? cheers

hi josh, im no pro at this but I just didn't like how the high/past vertical riffles form an air pocket underneath them. I didn't like how the heavy's flowed over them so easy either.
I found then when flow rate and sluice angle is tuned right I like my sluice to behave in a hold heavy's on the top side of the riffles and despense slowly allowing the gold to not only drop below the riffles within the vortex(no air) but to drop in/between and under the heavy's on the top side. same as the riffles as the expanded itself.

ive also found that the feed rate is CRUCIAL. 1 hand full every 10 seconds is what im feeding now and im getting more gold from the material I processing.

I have a pic of the latest mods in the 'new ground/new gully/new gold' topic...you will see what I mean.

im not saying that the riffle rack it comes with doesn't work I just think you would have to get the exact facts about it from the designer himself to maximise its efficiency!

to make the hopper boil...cut more slots in the hopper support arms and lay the hopper down flat with about 10mm of fall over the the whole hoppers length(im actually running mine with 5mm of fall the wrong way)