Mineralisation Identification

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All :)
I read a lot about mineralisation in the ground and the effects it plays on detector's, but not much on how to assess wether your in low or high mineralised ground.
Is there any visible signs to look out for infield?
or
Is it more online research?
Basically...... ]:D
I am interested in knowing how you assess how highly or low mineralised the ground/area is you are working on?

Thanks in advance for your input ;) :D :Y: :Y: :Y:

I'm no expert, but here's my two bobs worth:
1. Look for ironstone.
2. Try the magnet on the end of your pick and see how much it picks up.
3. Check the colour of the ground.
4. Check the colour of the quartz/
5. Look at the vegetation. Ironbarks are about the only tree that can thrive in very highly mineralised areas of the GT.
6. Run in fixed tracking, and see how often you need to ground balance.
7. Count the hot rocks that you find.
8. Count the false targets that you dig.
I've worked a few extremely hot areas that I'll never go back to with my 4500!

I'm definately no expert either, but agree with previous comments. To add to that, I have also observed that the interference from ground noise can vary in just a few steps and on certain days.

Hi all,

I have been considering why I would or should choose (on my GPX) to select Enhanced in contrast to selecting Hi- Mineral.

The Minelab manual reads Enhanced - "a soil timing"
For Mono coil - reducing most ground noise and the response of hot rocks.

The Minelab manual reads Hi - Mineral - "a search mode"
To stabilise the detector in highly mineralised soils.

I am not sure as to when ground noise is not mineralisation, although I have found buried dense carbon from burnt tree stumps reacting like a ground noise.