Minelab X-terra 705 General Tips, Advice, Questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bad-Habits

Matthew Conroy
Reaction score
Hi all. Is there something wrong with the xterra series of detectors? Its just that the forums and other discussions i get involved with about starter detectors and what not never seem to mention the xterra's or the 705 more particularly. As im fairly new to detecting and bought a xterra 705 it has me second guessing my choice of machine. So far i love it and has preformed well enough for me which is the main thing i guess i was just curious as to why i never hear much about them or anything about them really unless on a xterra site. Just interested is it a quality,price or effectiveness thing or i just miss or the posts. Any thoughts? Cheers.

It depends on where you and what you are using it for. To totally trash a detector is wrong in its own merit. However, if you are using it in highly mineralised soil you may change your view. Quite a few experienced operators have said it's near impossible to get it to ground balance. But on the plus side, as a coin detector the same operators say it's just awesome.

Thanks mate, I mainly search beaches and parks but got the gold pack just incase i go else where. I scored a gold and ghosts book in mint condition for $50 which had sum spots in north qld kind of inspired me to go for gold but with time being short i just stick to my local parks n beaches. So i guess its great for what im using it for, i can always upgrade oneday with the bosses permission. :) cant wait for the new garret edge digger n pick by the way, should be here soon.

Its no $5000 machine but im still very happy with it might i add. Money well spent in my opinion . If it ever pays itself off il be stoked. Thats my goal :)

Hi Bad-habits.