Is permission needed to detect NSW TSR and showgrounds?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
G'day all.
I'm brand new to detecting and spending a fair bit of time going over maps and local histories trying to find good locations. Could anyone tell me the legalities of detecting on Traveling Stock Routes in NSW? Do I need to get the permission of the surrounding landowner? Also, regarding showgrounds - do I need to approach local council first or are they fine to just go ahead and detect? Cheers.

Hi R.D,

I looked into this myself. For travelling stock routes you need to obtain a permit in NSW, same applies for state forests.

Not sure about showgrounds, but I'd be interested in answers from those who have more experience. Like you I'm fairly new to this.

For the Showgrounds, I would ask but, not the office staff, speak to the Manager of the Trust because staff might take the easy way out & just say "no" whether you might be permitted to or not.
Like all other detecting sessions though, ensure you fill your holes in & keep the site as neat as possible so you & others are permitted to detect the sites in the future & keep the junk you find (during your session only) to show the Caretaker what you have saved his mowers & the General Public from. I think it is a good idea to make sure the Caretaker understands some of the benefits from your presence.

My l o can show ground has signs saying it's private property owned by the show ground trust. I went and asked permission and was told that lots of people go in and detect but I was the first one to ask permission. Generally if any land has a fence around it you should ask first.