How to research from home

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Guys.

I'm new to all of this (as of Tuesday just past)

I was wondering. I live in Hervey Bay and thinking, how do you search your local area for places to hunt?

Are there things to look for when searching through Google Earth? Rocky structures to keep an eye out for? maps and stories from locals etc.

How do you search your local area for places to prospect?

- Josh

Google is your friend ....
ask google

"hervey bay gold finds "
"history of gold in hervey bay area "
"gold in hervey bay region "
etc , etc , etc.

I use a four stage basic process.

1. Direction - what is the key question I want answered. for example: "What were the richest gold bearing areas around Smithville"
2. Collection. This requires a collection plan, usually run through excel with a list of sub-questions and where I will collect the information from. Example:
a. What are the historical records for gold recovery, type of gold, associated minerals?
b. What were the mining stages - alluvial to deep lead, alluvial only, deep lead only, rush details (numbers, dates, length of rush) etc
c. Land status. Crown, private, on the exempt list, state park, national park, heritage listings etc
d. Mapping. Google earth, Bonzle, Memory Map, Forestry Maps, hard-copy, historic (published and unpublished)
e. Indicators. What is the geology of the area. What types of soils, minerals, vegetation, dykes, faults, water etc was associated with gold.
f. Recce of area by vehicle/foot.
Check local library for hard-copy reference material, Trove (National Library of Aust) for electronic on-line records, State Library (ditto), various Government Depts, local museum and/or historical society, google, private hard copy library and electronic library checked etc etc.