How many nuggets your biggest patch produced ?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

As a newbie I just would like to have an idea about how many nuggets your biggest patch produced, I am on my patch near Leonora since one week now, found 41 bits for 11g in an area about 30 meter x 30 meter ( it took heaps of time there is heaps of pieces of tin and birdshot, I dug about 400 holes if not more to get these bits 8.( )
But it was only very little stuff ( smaller 0.04g and bigger 2 grammer all the other ones around 0.10-0.15 )
I keep going as long as I find more around but just wondering if you think it is possible to find some bigger pieces around or it seems to be a patch with only little bits :|

Cheers Gaetan

Reads like your running at ~ 10% gold to finds.....about right to my ears.. :D

As to depth?... research the area for past finds in your area, but from my reading, most gold in WA fields is shallow.

However,.... you won't know you have a 'flyer' that is just laying there waiting, unless you give it a go...

Either a 16/18/20" should give you an idea of any deeper, or, larger nugg's on your patch.

Good hunting... :Y:

Hi Gypsy
I actually checked today on my patch and I think I am closer to 800-1000 holes :D ( but lucky I am All the rubbish were at the surface, but still have to check if it is not a sunbaker :) )

And all the 49 nuggs I got in that patch were at 1 or 2 inch down maximum, even the 2 grammer ( the biggest of the patch ) was only 1 cm down :D

I keep searching, got 8 today for 1,20 g ( I think another detector did that patch previously because I find only very tiny bits 8.( )

Good going on a worked patch is all i can say. :Y:

Are you finding the gold in gravels or packed clay's? Is it a surfaced area, or sloping natural ground?....